Lunchtime with ConTempo: Light and Darkness

Venue: St Nicholas' Collegiate Church

Date: 07 June 2022 at 1:10pm

Price: FREE

Galway Music Residency’s Lunchtimes with ConTempo series concludes for the summer in June with a stunning programme of light and darkness. The performance takes place on Tuesday 7 June at 1.10pm at St Nicholas’ Collegiate Church.

ConTempo Quartet will perform two contrasting pieces. Representing light and joy will be Mozart’s String Quartet No. 2 in D Major K155. This work was composed in 1772 in Bolzano while the composer was on a tour of Italy. The work is known for the unusual time changes in the first movement. Representing darkness and intensity will be Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 8 in C Minor, composed in 1960, which the composer privately stated was a eulogy to himself. The concert will be opened with Galway composer Katharina Baker’s Galway Suite in tribute to her contribution to music education and music-making in Galway city and county.

The concert will be repeated in Athenry Castle in partnership with Athenry Music School on Saturday 11 June at 1.00pm. For this concert, ConTempo Quartet will be joined by a number of young soloists and ensembles from the school, who will showcase their talents.


See all events