From Europe with Love: Cyprus

Venue: Online

Date: 09 April 2021 at 1pm

Price: Free-of-charge

On Friday 9 April at 1pm, enjoy a visit to Cyprus as part of Galway Music Residency’s From Europe with Love. This ambitious 3-year project presents monthly lunchtime concerts exploring string quartet repertoire from all 27 EU member countries. The series, performed by ConTempo Quartet, draws to a close in December 2021. Friday’s celebration of Cypriot music will be available for FREE on Facebook and YouTube and can be watched back following the performance.

“Akou na Deis” is a Cypriot saying meaning “Listen to Look”. We can’t see Cyprus with our eyes these days thanks to travel and health restrictions. But perhaps we can see with our ears during this special lunchtime concert. ConTempo Quartet will perform a varied programme, showcasing the very best of contemporary Cypriot music. The programme will include works by composers Solon Michaelides, Andy Skordis, and Evagoras Karageorgis. The concert will also present the World Premiere of a new work Epiclisi, composed specially for this concert by Giorgos Papageorgiou. This new composition is a response to the suffering of children in the Syrian conflict.

The event will be introduced by Penelope Soteriou a past board member of Galway Music Residency now living in London. Though a live audience is not possible, the lunchtime concert will be broadcast online from the beautiful Oughterard Courthouse. Sign up to Galway Music Residency’s mailing list to receive this concert via email:

See all events