Music & Musings - Marian Ingoldsby

Venue: The Black Gate Cultural Centre

Date: 14 November 2019 at 8pm

Price: €10/ €5

This series of concerts features the Galway ConTempo Quartet with emerging and established composers from Ireland, exploring new music, how it comes to be and how to listen to it. Presented in an intimate setting, these events break down the barriers too often associated with new music, and offers opportunities to understand and appreciate today’s music.

The second concert of Music & Musings on Thursday 14th November will feature celebrated Irish composer Marian Ingoldsby with her work Struck by a raindrop, first premiered in 1999 by the Jupiter String Quartet.  Her piece will be complemented by additional works played by the Quartet, with excerpts from Britten’s String Quartet no. 3. Both performances will be punctuated by discussion between composers, artists and listeners who are more than welcome to interact with questions about the music with the evening being chaired by John Caulfield of NUI Galway.

Tickets for these unique events cost €10/€5 and can be purchased at or at the door subject to availability.

This series is kindly supported by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO), an entity focused, among other programmes, on developing cultural initiatives to promote music creation, culture and cultural diversity. The Galway Music Residency is also supported by NUI Galway, the Arts Council, Galway City and County Councils and GMIT. 

WhatsApp Image 2019 08 23 at 17.12.46

See all events