Music & Musings - Seán Doherty

Venue: The Black Gate Cultural Centre

Date: 26 September 2019 at 8pm

Price: €15/€10

The Galway Music Residency is delighted to announce its autumn 2019 series of Music & Musings in partnership with the Contemporary Music Centre. This series of concerts, beginning on Thursday 26th September in The Black Gate Cultural Centre, features ConTempo Quartet with emerging and established composers from Ireland, exploring new music, how it comes to be and how to listen to it. Presented in an intimate setting these events offer opportunities for all to understand and appreciate today’s musical creations.

The first concert in the series will feature Seán Doherty’s work The Devil’s Dream, commissioned by the Vanbrugh Quartet. This work, exploring the theme of ‘death’, will be paired with excerpts from Smetana’s String Quartet No. 1 From My Life. Discussions about the works, the performance and everything in between will be led by Linda O'Shea Farren of the Contemporary Music Centre and GMR Artistic Chair John Caulfield, with audience participation welcome.

This series is kindly supported by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO), an entity focused, among other programmes, on developing cultural initiatives to promote music creation, culture and cultural diversity. The Galway Music Residency is aslod supported by NUI Galway, the Arts Council, Galway City and County Councils and GMIT.

Tickets available from

WhatsApp Image 2019 08 23 at 17.12.46

See all events